Seaplane Useful Load

A Place to Share Experiences and Discuss Aviation Stories

Moderators: 6643, 6183, V529

Forum rules
You must be a member of the Cessna 120-140 Association in order to post new topics, reply to existing topics, or search for information on this forum. Use the "Join" link in the red menu bar.
matthewhinmann120cm
Name:
Aircraft Type: C120
Occupation-Interests: A&P and Private Pilot at Skagit Regional Airport

Seaplane Useful Load

Post by matthewhinmann120cm »

Hi all,

I’m a new pilot and new to the Cessna 120/140 gang, so bear with me.

According to the TCDS, the useful load for a land 120/140 is less than the seaplane version, showing 1450 lbs for land, and 1550 lbs for the seaplane? Why the 100lbs difference? Why does the float version have higher useful load when it actually is carrying more weight due to the floats?

My 120 has the V-brace installed on the glare shield. Does this increase the useful load (because this is required for seaplanes) ?

Thanks!
Name: Randy Thompson
Aircraft Type: Cessna 140
Occupation-Interests: Work on airplanes and engines

Re: Seaplane Useful Load

Post by 6298 »

Those figures are Gross Weight Limits. You should have a weight and balance sheet with the airplanes records. The seaplane modifications add to the empty weight, so the Gross limits are a little higher.
Randy Thompson A&P IA Pilot
Hold STC SA547EA for installation of O-200 engine in Cessna 120/140 and 140A"s
Overhaul small Continentals
a64pilot
Name: Jody
Aircraft Type: C-140
Occupation-Interests: A&P former IA, Retired test pilot

Post by a64pilot »

Long time ago it was noticed that by the time you added floats to an airplane it had pretty much no useful load, not when you added a pilot and fuel.
So it’s very common for a float equipped airplane to have a higher gross weight limit, one theory which is pretty spurious is that floats generate lift and carry themselves.

No you don’t get a gross weight increase for the windshield brace.