Another prospective C-140 buyer

A Place to Share Experiences and Discuss Aviation Stories

Moderators: 6643, 6183, V529

Forum rules
You must be a member of the Cessna 120-140 Association in order to post new topics, reply to existing topics, or search for information on this forum. Use the "Join" link in the red menu bar.
Name: Chris
Aircraft Type: Looking for one...
Occupation-Interests: Airline Pilot

Another prospective C-140 buyer

Post by 8411 »

Hello all!

I'm new to the forum and a new association member. I'm an airline pilot who very much misses flying for fun and I'm looking to get back to my GA roots. I live in northern Minnesota and I'm considering a 140 as a possibility. I'm not looking to use it for x-country travel. Just want something for low and slow flying, pancake fly-ins and to put skis on in the winter. Would like to get something with an O-200 to get a little more performance. I am looking for something with a Comm radio and xpndr. Not looking for a show plane. Just looking for a solid plane that is mechanically sound and doesn't need the fabric replaced. Don't mind a little ugly duckling as long as the critical parts are sound. Not looking to break the bank.

Question for you guys about the usefulness or ineffectiveness of flaps. I don't have any time in a 140 and from the research I've done it seems like the consensus is the flaps don't do much of anything as far as landing performance goes. I've also read that they have some positive effect in short field takeoff performance. While I don't plan on using it as a Backcountry plane, I would like possibly do a little off airport flying. Would you pass on a decent 120 w/o flaps in favor of a 140??

I'm sure I will have several more questions as my search has just begun.

Thanks!

Chris
Name: Jeff T
Aircraft Type: 48 140 C90
Occupation-Interests: Auto,Marine&Aviation Repair

Re: Another prospective C-140 buyer

Post by 6898 »